Description

Perfect for fans of A MAN CALLED OVE, THE BEST EXOTIC MARIGOLD HOTEL and THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP

Newly retired Philip returns home to Cologne and is thrown into emotional turmoil upon bumping into his long-lost sweetheart. In the midst of a domestic crisis, Ricarda confides in Philip that she is looking for somewhere to live. And there and then, Philip suggests that she move in with him - he is setting up a flatshare. Will she join him with his mischievous dachshund named Ralf?

To his surprise, Ricarda agrees, leaving Philip to scramble together a crew of retires in time for spring, for the most unlikely of social experiments. There's grumpy cigarette-smoking grandfather Harry; quiet and discreet Eckart, curiously carting around his late wife's headstone; Uschi, brimming with life, harbouring a passion for leotards and aerobics, along with sausages and outrageous knitting patterns; and then, ever-practical and warm-hearted Ricarda, towards whom Phillip is developing real feelings.

Despite their differences, the flatmates thrive and embark on a series of new adventures. But when Uschi falls unwell, familiar cracks begin to show and this uniquely spirited club of friends must work together in order to survive - and truly blossom.

Read what people are saying about The Vintage Springtime Club

'Such a wonderful, uplifting story. When I finished I felt a warm frisson of emotion enveloping me. It's difficult to believe this is Beatrice's first novel' (Kraftireader)

'This gentle book is full of warmth and is an easy enjoyable read' (Portobello Book Blog)

'A charming debut novel' (Alba Forcadell)

'A wonderful tale of life, friendship and love that kept me hooked until the very end' (Reading Room With a View)

The Vintage Springtime Club: A charming novel for fans of The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared

Product form

£8.09

Includes FREE delivery
RRP: £8.99 You save £0.90 (10%)

Paperback / softback by Beatrice Meier
Description:

Perfect for fans of A MAN CALLED OVE, THE BEST EXOTIC MARIGOLD HOTEL and THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP Newly retired... Read more

2 in stock

    Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
    Publication Date: 02/03/2017
    ISBN13: 9780349141763, 978-0349141763
    ISBN10: 0349141762
    Number of Pages: 336

    Fiction , Contemporary Fiction

    Description

    Perfect for fans of A MAN CALLED OVE, THE BEST EXOTIC MARIGOLD HOTEL and THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP

    Newly retired Philip returns home to Cologne and is thrown into emotional turmoil upon bumping into his long-lost sweetheart. In the midst of a domestic crisis, Ricarda confides in Philip that she is looking for somewhere to live. And there and then, Philip suggests that she move in with him - he is setting up a flatshare. Will she join him with his mischievous dachshund named Ralf?

    To his surprise, Ricarda agrees, leaving Philip to scramble together a crew of retires in time for spring, for the most unlikely of social experiments. There's grumpy cigarette-smoking grandfather Harry; quiet and discreet Eckart, curiously carting around his late wife's headstone; Uschi, brimming with life, harbouring a passion for leotards and aerobics, along with sausages and outrageous knitting patterns; and then, ever-practical and warm-hearted Ricarda, towards whom Phillip is developing real feelings.

    Despite their differences, the flatmates thrive and embark on a series of new adventures. But when Uschi falls unwell, familiar cracks begin to show and this uniquely spirited club of friends must work together in order to survive - and truly blossom.

    Read what people are saying about The Vintage Springtime Club

    'Such a wonderful, uplifting story. When I finished I felt a warm frisson of emotion enveloping me. It's difficult to believe this is Beatrice's first novel' (Kraftireader)

    'This gentle book is full of warmth and is an easy enjoyable read' (Portobello Book Blog)

    'A charming debut novel' (Alba Forcadell)

    'A wonderful tale of life, friendship and love that kept me hooked until the very end' (Reading Room With a View)

    Recently viewed products

    © 2024 Book Curl,

      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Maestro
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • Union Pay
      • Visa

      Login

      Forgot your password?

      Don't have an account yet?
      Create account