Description

The dramatic final volume in the Wheel of Surya trilogy by Whitbread award-winning author of Coram Boy, Jamila Gavin.

In 1947 India is rocked by the Independence movement and partition with Pakistan. Their lives disrupted by violence, Jaspal and Marvinder are sent from their Indian village to find their father, who is a student in England. In The Track of the Wind, Jaspal and Marvinder are reunited with their mother in India, but their fight for independence goes on.

A story touching on culture, class, faith and family set against the backdrop of Indian independence and the Partition of India and Pakistan. No children’s books about India conveys these issues and themes with the effortless ease of Jamila Gavin. Her diverse voice is the perfect introduction to this period of history, for fans of The Bone Sparrow, Morris Gleitzman's Once, and Katherine Rundell's The Wolf Wilder.

The Track of the Wind (The Wheel of Surya Trilogy)

Product form

£7.19

Includes FREE delivery
RRP: £7.99 You save £0.80 (10%)

Paperback / softback by Jamila Gavin
Description:

The dramatic final volume in the Wheel of Surya trilogy by Whitbread award-winning author of Coram Boy, Jamila Gavin. In... Read more

2 in stock

    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    Publication Date: 07/07/2022
    ISBN13: 9780008511241, 978-0008511241
    ISBN10: 0008511241
    Number of Pages: 240

    Children & Teen , Teen & Young Adult

    Description

    The dramatic final volume in the Wheel of Surya trilogy by Whitbread award-winning author of Coram Boy, Jamila Gavin.

    In 1947 India is rocked by the Independence movement and partition with Pakistan. Their lives disrupted by violence, Jaspal and Marvinder are sent from their Indian village to find their father, who is a student in England. In The Track of the Wind, Jaspal and Marvinder are reunited with their mother in India, but their fight for independence goes on.

    A story touching on culture, class, faith and family set against the backdrop of Indian independence and the Partition of India and Pakistan. No children’s books about India conveys these issues and themes with the effortless ease of Jamila Gavin. Her diverse voice is the perfect introduction to this period of history, for fans of The Bone Sparrow, Morris Gleitzman's Once, and Katherine Rundell's The Wolf Wilder.

    Recently viewed products

    © 2024 Book Curl,

      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Maestro
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • Union Pay
      • Visa

      Login

      Forgot your password?

      Don't have an account yet?
      Create account